Florida Circuit 16-Goal Super-Series Championship


Story and photos by Alan Fabricant of alfabphoto.com

By winning one of four qualifiers, the Joe Barry Cup, Ylvisaker Cup, Iglehart Cup and Continental Cup, those teams would then playoff to see who would participate in the first Florida Circuit 16-Goal Super-Series Championship.

As it turned out, a strong Iconica team won the first three events, automatically qualifying for the final to play against La Fe, winner of the final event.

On an overcast day on Sunday, April 9th at the National Polo Center these two teams took to the field.

The Iconica team jumped out to a lead in the second chukker and never looked back for a 14-11 victory.

During all of these tournaments Iconica won 16 of the 17 games it played.

The team was made up of Maureen Brennan, Mariano ‘Peke’ Gonzalez, Lucas ‘Luckitas” Criado and Santos Merlos.  

During the final Peke Gonzalez scored five goals and was awarded Most Valuable Player honors.

Rufino Merlos, Robi Bilbao, Francisco Elizalde and Louis Devaleix were the players on the La Fe team.

La Fe’s Francisco Elizalde, riding Lavinia Magia was presented with the Best Playing Pony award.